urban research program 2:
imaginary spaces — virtual vision
Tuesday, 15 February 20:00 h.

Directors Lounge 2012
Naherholung Sternchen, Berolinastraße 7, 10178 Berlin / Mitte

Jaime Rguez (ES)
Transit 3 min 43 sec 2011
sound by mind revolution

The city we live in consists of much more than what we directly experience, and the program dealing with this idea "naturally" turns out to be divers and colourful. The things we see, the social environment we live in and experience is only one part of our "life in the city". The other part consists of news, media, stories, gossip, and an increasing number of images, shared and received on public and private channels. Thus, life in the city (let's call it a specific city: Berlin, Hamburg, London, L.A., or Singapor, you name it) does not turn into a storyline, I don't live "the story of my life", but it turns into a multifaceted image. As a consequence, we might say, city life in large parts is made of private and public, shared and unshared imaginations. The program starts with dark scenes from imagined city life, the animation of "Silent Circles"; followed by the silent, forgotten or hidden stories of "Here" and "Depth of Whisper"; then the tracing of local stories in the city on one side real in "I never told you what I do for a living", or otherwise poetic in "Filmpoem 15, Slow Wave through the City"; the reuse of common narratives of pop culture in "Go West", "Myths of Everyday" and "Transit"; and even apocalyptic visions based on real disasters like Chernobyl / Pripyat and Fukushima shape the vision we have of the city we live in, and of other cities. The reactions might differ, we may feel the need to find places to cry in silence ("Crying in our cars"), or we may feel the urge to visit the places of nuclear disaster (Fantasma Pripyat), however, both are realities of real lives born in imaginations. And, what about the fish travelling the city in a glass bowl?

·curator: Klaus W. Eisenlohr

sound-videoArt (jaime rguez & Mind Revolution)

Sound composed by Mind Revolution / Asturias, Spain ©2011
Visuals edited by Jaime Rguez ©2011
some images by Vaslav Nijinsky (short records, 1909-12)

The Future is Now, the City Imagination  
Urban Research Programme II
Beate Hecher, Marjorie Hernandez Tejada, Curtis Burz, Hirakawa Youki, Alastair Cook, Petra Lottje, Henry Gwiazda, Isabelle Martin, Ayman Nahle, Klaus W. Eisenlohr, Monika Rechsteiner, Jaime Rguez, Suman & Sourav [TAXI]

urban research program 2

Urban Research:
Artists Exploring Contemporary Urban Space

The program Urban Research, curated by Klaus W. Eisenlohr for Directors Lounge 2012, reaches beyond the genre "city films". Contemporary artists are engaged in local politics, they are concerned with specific urban problems and developments, and they are directly interacting with the public with performances and public interventions. Due to rapid changes of urban environment, place is no more a reliable urban structure connected with consistency and collective memory. Place must be reinvented and newly defined over and over, and this does not only apply for spaces of temporary use. Public space in the sense of social interchange and interaction — as well as just a space free to use — is not a given opportunity any more, which can be taken for granted. International artists address these themes and issues with a variety of forms, experimental, documentary, abstract, and narrative; they intervene directly or they show there visions of public space, and a new urban landscape.

miércoles, 01 de febrero de 2012 / 11:05
Nuevo single de Mind Revolution
Ready for the Passin' Time: Electric, se trata del tercer volumen del proyecto Mapas Revolucionarios

"Ready for the Passin' Time", es el tercer volumen de los "Mapas Revolucionarios" de Mind Revolution. La edición física de la obra, limitada a 50 unidades, está formada por la canción "Electric" de Mind Revolution, el poema "El sur" de Juan Carlos Suárez y una obra de Gema Ramos en exclusiva para esta edición.
Mind Revolution, es un proyecto formado en 2010 por Ángel González y Eugenia Tejón con el objetivo de buscar nuevas formas de expresión a partir de la relación entre la música y las demás artes.
El primer trabajo de Mind Revolution supone la creación de los Mapas Revolucionarios. A partir de un tema, se propone a un artista la producción de una obra que pueda ser incluida en un sobre de 15 x 15. Las ediciones físicas son limitadas a 50 ejemplares. El primer Mapa Revolucionario partía del concepto “Dos” y se titulaba "In The Beginning There Were Two". A la canción "Die for You",  le acompañaba la obra gráfica "Kamisa de Venus" y el poema "Éter" de Begoña Grande. El segundo Mapa Revolucionario, compuesto en torno al concepto “Tiempo” y titulado "The Time of the Season", contenía la canción "Underground" así como la obra gráfica "It´s Time to" de Amada Fernández y las fotografías Tiempo 1 y Tiempo 2 de Roberto Pato. El tercer Mapa Revolucionario  contó con la colaboración en el diseño y obra gráfica de Gema Ramos, "el poema El sur" de Juan Carlos Suárez y la canción "Electric". En esta ocasión el título general es "Ready for the Passin’ Time" y el concepto el “Escapismo”. Estos tres trabajos junto con un cuarto que contará con obra de Natalia Pastor y en el que se reflexionará sobre la idea de “Realidad” formarán la tetralogía "Out of Our Heads". Para la producción musical el grupo cuentan con la colaboración de Ángel Domenech.
Entre los proyectos de Mind Revolution para el año 2012 se encuentra la presentación de "Transit", música creada para los visuales que Jaime Rodríguez presentará en Málaga en febrero en una exposición bajo el mismo nombre. Este trabajo supone la colaboración del grupo con el nuevo concepto "sound-videoArt" que Jaime Rodríguez está creando.

En octubre de 2012 se presentará en Zaragoza "Los ecos del silencio", en colaboración con César Naves, y se espera que a finales de año aparezca el ya mencionado Mapa Revolucionario Nº4 con obra de Natalia Pastor.  Más info: mindrevolution